Ontario's Designated Provider of Distance Education

Independent Learning Centre

What is GED® Testing?

Learn How GED® Can Help You

Download the GED Information Booklet (PDF, 347 KB)

GED® Testing is for adults who left high school without a diploma. The GED® was established in 1942 and is recognized throughout Canada and the United States.

People who take and pass the GED® tests earn an Ontario High School Equivalency Certificate. The ILC is the exclusive provider of GED® Testing in Ontario.

What the Tests Show

The GED® Tests provide adults who did not complete a formal high school program the opportunity to demonstrate high-school level knowledge and skills.

Why People Write the GED® Tests

The GED® Tests are for you if you want to:

  • receive a high school equivalency certificate
  • qualify for employment
  • gain promotion within your own organization
  • apply for admission to an educational or training institution
  • enter an apprenticeship program

Who Can Take the GED® Tests

To take the GED Tests in Ontario, you must:

  • be at least 18 years old
  • have not graduated from high school
  • have been out of the school system for at least one full year
  • be a resident of Ontario

Back to top

What is On the GED® Tests

The GED Tests are a set of five tests in the core high school curriculum areas:

  • Language Arts: Writing
  • Language Arts: Reading
  • Mathematics
    • Part 1 (use of calculator)
    • Part 2 (no calculator)
  • Social Studies
  • Science

The tests measure important knowledge and skills (such as your ability to understand and apply information; to evaluate, analyze, and draw conclusions; and to express ideas and opinions in writing) that are usually acquired during a regular high school program of study. See the complete test outline.

Back to top

Test Questions

  • The tests contain questions that require the use of important ideas and thinking skills.
  • Few of the questions ask for isolated details, definitions, or specific facts.
  • Multiple-choice questions are used for each of the five tests.
  • The Language Arts: Writing Test includes an essay component that a candidate must pass in order to receive a score for the test.
  • The Mathematics Test includes the use of standard and coordinate plane grids and a calculator.

Types of Tests

The tests are available in English and French. Special editions and testing accommodations are available to help people with special needs and physical and/or learning disabilities.

The tests used in Canada have been developed especially for Canadians.

Back to top

To open and print PDF documents, you need the free Adobe Reader software.